Not, Another New Year’s Resolution

With the New Year fast approaching, most of us will be adding new, New Year’s resolutions to our “to-do” lists. We’ll aim to lose weight, eat better, make more money, read more, (maybe books on self-improvement…) watch less TV, be a better friend, spouse, sibling, parent, etc. In other words, in the new year, we will strive to improve ourselves from this current year’s model. It’s a new year. Anything is possible!

So, with that in mind, I’ve made a list, or more accurately, I’ve modified an ancient, yet well-known list.

If you’ve attended any Christian weddings in recent times, you’ll be quite familiar with this text. And I promise, this will not offend any non-Christians, or non-believers. It’s practical advice for anyone.

  • I am patient. I am kind.
  • I am not jealous. I am not pompous. I am not inflated, rude, nor do I seek my own interests.
  • I am not quick-tempered. I do not brood over injury. I do not rejoice over wrongdoing, but I rejoice with the truth.
  • I bear all things; I believe all things. I hope in all things. I endure all things. I will never fail.
  • When I was a child, I used to talk as a child, think as a child, reason as a child; when I became an adult, I put aside childish things.

Adapted from 1 Corinthians Chapter 13. Verses 4-7, 11

.

Happy New Year, to the new you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

